Skip to main content
Michigan Farm Bureau Family of Companies

Michigan political dynamics shift, Farm Bureau ready

Image credit: Courtesy photo
Date Posted: November 28, 2022

The Michigan Legislature will have a new leadership dynamic when the 2023-24 session convenes in January. For the first time in decades, Democrats will control both chambers of the legislature with a 20-18 majority in the Senate and 56-54 majority in the House.  

“The House speaker, Senate majority leader, and their leadership teams set the tone for their respective chambers,” said Rob Anderson, Michigan Farm Bureau’s government relations manager. “These individuals have a large influence on which proposals — including those impacting the food and agriculture sector — will come before the Legislature for voting.” 

He said that whether a bill is introduced to create new law, amend existing law, or repeal current law, the leaders can influence the variables surrounding if, when and how the bill moves through the process. 

Responsibilities of the legislative leaders include presiding over daily sessions, managing floor debate, determining bills to be considered, communicating caucus positions and more. 

Anderson said the organization looks forward to working with the legislative leadership team. 

“We’re here to provide them with information and connect them with our county Farm Bureau members so they understand what farm families need to keep providing the food, fiber and fuel we all depend on,” he said. “And just like we do every year, we’ll work with them to implement our members’ grassroots policy.” 

In the coming weeks, the House and Senate is also expected to announce standing committee assignments. 

Michigan House leadership 

Rep. Joe Tate (D-Detroit) will serve as the next speaker of the House. Working alongside Tate will be Rep. Laurie Pohutsky (D-Livonia) as speaker pro tempore.  

Rep. Abraham Aiyash (D-Hamtramck) takes the reins as majority floor leader and has selected Rep. Kara Hope (D-Holt), Rep.-elect Jimmie Wilson (D-Ypsilanti) and Rep.-elect Betsy Coffia (D-Traverse City) as his assistant leaders. 

Rep. Matt Hall (R-Emmett Twp) will serve as minority leader, joined by Rep. Andrew Beeler (R-Fort Gratiot) as minority floor leader.  

Rep. Angela Witwer (D-Delta Twp) will lead the House Appropriations Committee.  

Michigan Senate leadership 

Sen. Winnie Brinks (D-Grand Rapids) will serve as the next Senate majority leader. Working alongside Brinks will be Sen.-elect Sam Singh (D-East Lansing) in the position of majority floor leader.  

Sen. Jeremy Moss (D-Southfield) will be president pro tempore, joined by Sen.-elect Darrin Camilleri (D-Trenton) as assistant majority leader. 

Sen. Aric Nesbitt (R-Lawton) will serve as minority leader, along with Sen. Dan Lauwers (R-Brockway) as minority floor leader.  

Sen. Sarah Anthony (D-Lansing) will lead the Senate Appropriations Committee.

Media Contacts
Rob Anderson headshot

Rob Anderson

Manager, Government Relations
517-679-5343 [email protected]