Skip to main content
Michigan Farm Bureau Family of Companies

2020 Farm Bureau Insurance Scholar-Athletes Named

Date Posted: April 21, 2021

The Michigan High School Athletic Association has selected 32 student-athletes from Class A, B, C, and D member schools to receive scholarships through the MHSAA/Farm Bureau Insurance Scholar-Athlete Award program.

Farm Bureau Insurance, in its 31st year of sponsoring the award, will give $1,000 college scholarships to 32 individuals who represent their member schools in at least one sport in which the Association sponsors a postseason tournament. The first 30 scholarships are awarded proportionately by school classification and the number of student-athletes involved in those classes; also, there are two at-large honorees who can come from any classification.

Students applying for the Scholar-Athlete Award must be carrying at least a 3.5 (on a 4.0 scale) grade-point average and have previously won a letter in a varsity sport in which the Michigan High School Athletic Association sponsors a postseason tournament. Other requirements for the applicants were to show active participation in other school and community activities and produce an essay on the importance of sportsmanship in educational athletics.

In addition to the scholarships, commemorative medallions will be given to the finalists in recognition of their accomplishments.

CLASS A:  Ericka Asmus, Marquette; Lucy Borski, Holland West Ottawa; Morgan Cooper, Hartland; Kylie Ray, Pinckney; Elizabeth Saunders, Traverse City Central; Kayla Wolma, Hudsonville; Logan Canada, Fenton; DJ Dixon, Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice; Malcolm Gaynor, Portage Northern; Tej Kothari, Jenison; Brandon Liu, Northville; and Anish Middha, Midland Dow.

CLASS B:  Hannah Fulmer, Grosse Ile; Alicia Kanai, Ada Forest Hills Eastern; Tara Keller, Frankenmuth; Faith Schafer, Williamston; Delaney Wesolek, Bay City John Glenn; Hunter Assenmacher, Ida; Samuel Beach, Hillsdale; Gabriel Hassan, Ada Forest Hills Eastern; Lucas Kopp, Grosse Ile and Ben Lankfer, Grand Rapids Catholic Central.

CLASS C:  Madelyn Koski, Ishpeming Westwood; Alanna Mayer, Bronson; Kayla Moore, Madison Heights Bishop Foley Catholic; Brendan Dafoe, Petersburg Summerfield; Noah Dusseau, Petersburg Summerfield; and Hutson Hohlbein, Adrian Lenawee Christian.

CLASS D:  Emma Springer, Three Oaks River Valley; Samantha Teachworth, Portland St. Patrick; Lesley Armah, Mount Pleasant Sacred Heart; and James Storey, Pickford.